Limit how many times a trigger can be activated
SearchContact us
Widget settings with the 'Disable the hotspot after user engages with it' option selected
Widget settings with the 'Disable the hotspot after user engages with it' option selected

Limiting the number of trigger interactions

Triggers allow you to provide guidance to people visiting your website or app. In some cases, like a banner announcing a change in Terms of Service or a hotspot pointing to a new feature, it makes sense to only do it once and get out of the user's way.

The easiest way to go about this is by toggling the Disable the trigger after the user engages with it option in trigger settings.

This approach, however, has its limits. The interaction with the trigger is recorded in browser cookies, meaning if the users switches browsers, uses a different device, or simply clears their browser's storage, the trigger will activate for them again.

We can work around those limitations using targeting and data transmission. Follow this guide to learn how to do that.